A compilation of PIL cases in Bangladesh

Case Number: Writ Petition No. 12211 of 2012
Home 9 PIL Cases 9 Case Number: Writ Petition No. 12211 of 2012
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Case Number: Writ Petition No. 12211 of 2012

Date of filing: 2012/09/24


  1. Md. Kamal Mia, Dhaka
  2. Siraj, Gazipur
  3. Md. Al-Amin, Kishorgonj
  4. Md. Habibur Rahman, Mymensing
  5. Abul Kalam, Comilla
  6. Md. Idris, Gazipur
  7. Md. Year Uddin, Barguna
  8. Md. Hasan Ali, Dinajpur
  9. Ershad Mojumdar, Chandpur
  10. Md. Faruque, Gazipur
  11. Md. Mohin Sheikh, Gopalgong
  12. Abdur Razak, Barisal
  13. Md. Shahjahan, Mymensing
  14. Md. Hanis Mai, Mymensing
  15. Md. Bachchu Mai, Chandpur
  16. Md. Sultan Ahmed, Mymenshing
  17. Md. Shahidul Amin, Lakshmipur
  18. Md. Hiron, Dhaka
  19. Faruque, Noakhali
  20. Asadul Islam, Lakhmipur
  21. Md. Harun-Or-Rashid, Chandpur
  22. Md. Abu Bakar Siddique, Comilla
  23. Md. Abdul Jalil, Feni
  24. Md. Jewl Mia, Mymenshing
  25. Md. Abdul Bashar, Laxmipur
  26. Md. Rahim Badsha, Sherpur
  27. Md. Abu Said, Mymenshing
  28. Md. Ainal, Gazipur
  29. Md. Rais, Uddin,Mymenshing
  30. Chinnu, Dhaka
  31. Abdus Salam, Barisal,
  32. Md. Faruque Hossain, Barisal
  33. Alam, Mymenshing
  34. Md. Sohel Rana, Kishorgong
  35. Md. Jamal Uddin, Comilla
  36. Md. Lala Chand Khondker, Mymenshing
  37. Md. Saiful Islam, Mymenshing
  38. Md. Mahabub Khondker, Barisal
  39. Md. Mahbub Rahman, B’baria
  40. Md. Mizanur Rahaman, B’baria
  41. Anwar Hossain, Noakhali
  42. Md. Manik Hosen, Barisal
  43. Md. Rafiqul Islam, Kishoorgong
  44. Belayet Hossain, B’baria
  45. Md. Alamgir Mia, B’baria
  46. Dulal Hoassain, Gazipur
  47. Rabindranath, Mymenshingh
  48. Md. Nasir Uddin, Mymenshing
  49. Md. Nurul Amin, Noakhali
  50. Md. Jasim, Noakhali
  51. Md. Ratan, Norshingdi
  52. Abdul Aziz, Noakhali
  53. Md. Hanif, Laxmipur
  54. Md. Abdus Sattar, Norshigndi
  55. Md. Sirajul Islam, Gazipur
  56. Md. Rois Uddin, Mymenhing
  57. Md. Habibullah, Mymensing
  58. Nayon Karmokar, Tangail
  59. Md. Siddique, Sirajgong
  60. Md. Hanif, Bhoirab
  61. Abdul Khalek, Kishorgong
  62. Md. Haider Ali, Faridpur
  63. Md. Kelu Mia, Hobigong
  64. Md. Shaheb Ali, Mymensing
  65. Abdul Baten, B’baria
  66. Abul Kalam,. Gazipur
  67. Hashem, Kishorgong
  68. Md. Jasim, B’baria
  69. Abdul Mannan, B’baria
  70. Manik Mia, Comilla
  71. Md. Ali Akbar, Chandpur
  72. Md. Shahjahan, Comilla
  73. Md. Anwar Hossain, Gopalgong
  74. Md. Sohel Rana, B’baria
  75. Md. Zakir Hossain, B’baria
  76. Kazi Enamul Huq Sumon, Comilla


  1. Secretary, Ministry of Communication
  2. Director General, Bangladesh Railway
  3. GM, Bangladesh Railway East Zone, Chittagong
  4. GM, Bangladesh Railway West Zone, Rajshahi
  5. Deputy Director E – 3, Bangladesh Railway
  6. Chief Personal Officer, Bangladesh Railway East Zone, Rajshahi
  7. Chief Personal Officer, Bangladesh Railway West Zone, Rajshahi
  8. Secretary, Ministry of Railway Bangladesh


The petitioners have been appointed Railway as Wayman, Gate Keeper, Valve man etc on temporary basis. During their service, an agreement was executed between the Ministry of Communication and the leaders of the Sramik-Karmchari-Sangram-Parishad dated 16.11.1992 where it was stated in clause 3 and 4 that the temporary employees would be regularised upon completion of five years’ service in their respective posts. On the basis of the said agreement of the concerned authority, 18 employees were absorbed under the revenue budget. Subsequently another agreement was also executed between the same dated 22.11.2000.


Date: 12/03/2015


The Court issued a Rule Nisi calling upon the respondents to show cause as to why a direction should not be given upon the respondents to absorb the petitioners in the revenue sector and/or to make their job permanent by implementing the agreement dated 16.11.92 and 22.11.2000 respectively and in the light of the judgment and order dated 04.5.2010 in writ petition No. 4856 of 2009 and/or pass such other or further order or orders as to the Court may seem fit and proper.


Mr.Justice Quazi Reza-UL-Hoque
Mr. Justice Abu Taher Md 
Saifur Rahman

Area of law

Worker’s Rights,
Accountability and Institutional Reform


Absorption of Temporary Employees

Relevant statute

Constitution, Articles 102

Database Last Updated on: 2017-02-12 15:26:45